ABOUT

𝕋𝕒𝕓𝕒𝕥𝕒𝕡 💚𝕋𝕒𝕓𝕒𝕥𝕒𝕡 💚𝕋𝕒𝕓
IMG_20190410_131122.jpg

 

THE LABEL

Tabatap

is Afro-Caribbean inspired fashion in its very own style. The label was founded in 2006 by the German-Jamaican fashion designer Tabitha Minott. The name Tabatap is based on the Jamaican proverb "TAP A TAP" (Top of the tops) ... Tab (itha) - A - Tap = TABATAP. Tabatap stands for colorful Afrocentric and Afro-futuristic clothing based on and proud of the designer's origins. The designs are a fusion of African and Caribbean (especially Jamaica), Rasta, Reggae / Dancehall and street style elements. Spirituality, history and art also have a strong influence on fashion and the exploration of the power of the "Divine Feminine" #channelyourinnergoddess.

Tabatap was represented at numerous events, fashion shows, exhibitions, Africa festivals / markets, reggae festivals in the DE area. The creation of artist outfits for appearances and photo shoots and styling for a video shoot is also part of the report. Tabatap is an international, afro-diasporic brand with worldwide customers in Europe, USA, Jamaica, Asia around

Tabatap's goal is to empower with fashion and art in an afrocentric way.

We thank you for all the support over the years !!

 

 

THE DESIGNER / ARTIST

 

Tabitha is an artist with many facets, grew up in a creative household with artistic parents, which shaped her from an early age, as well as the Jamaican and Rastafarian culture with which she grew up.

The designer studied fashion design at the JAK Academy in Hamburg from 2002-2006. In the same year of her graduation, she became a mother for the first time (she is now a mother of four) and founded her label Tabatap.

Over the years she has presented her fashion at fashion shows in DE, enriched festivals with her fashion and participated in exhibitions and events and taught workshops for children. Among other things, she founded the Talawah store with other family members, which was operated in Hamburg, St. Pauli from 2006-2013.

Painting and illustration are also among the artist's forms of expression, and she associates some of the works with her fashion. She is also deeply connected to music, influenced by her father, a Jamaican reggae musician, among others. She made studio recordings, had appearances (including at the Poetry Night of the BHM Hamburg) and new projects are being planned. Another passion of the artist is Smai Tawi / Kemetic Yoga, so she completed her training as a Kemetic Yoga / Smai Tawi teacher (Basu) of the "Thef Sema Paut Neteru" system in October 2020. She is available for workshops and private lessons and is now looking forward to passing on Smai Tawi to people in addition to her creative fashion.

ABOUT

𝕋𝕒𝕓𝕒𝕥𝕒𝕡 💚𝕋𝕒𝕓𝕒𝕥𝕒𝕡 💚𝕋𝕒𝕓
IMG_20190410_131122.jpg

 

DAS LABEL

Tabatap-

ist afro-karibisch inspirierte Mode in ihrem ganz eigenen Stil. Das Label wurde 2006 von der deutsch-jamaikanischen Modedesignerin Tabitha Minott gegründet. Der Name Tabatap ist angelehnt an das jamaikanische Sprichwort "TAP A TAP" (Top of the tops) ... Tab(itha) - A - Tap= TABATAP. Tabatap steht für farbenfrohe afrozentrische und afrofuturistische Kleidung in Anlehnung und Stolz an die Herkunft der Designerin. Die Designs sind eine Fusion aus afrikanischen und karibischen (insbes. Jamaica), Rasta, Reggae/Dancehall und Street Style Elementen. Spiritualität, Geschichte und Kunst haben ebenso einen starken Einfluss auf die Mode sowie die Auseinandersetzung mit der Kraft des "Divine Feminine" #channelyourinnergoddess. 

Tabatap war auf zahlreichen Events vertreten, Fashionshows, Ausstellungen, Afrika Feste/Märkte, Reggae Festivals im Raum DE. Das Kreieren von Künstleroutfits für Auftritte und Photoshootings und Styling für einen Videodreh gehört auch zum Reportoire. Tabatap ist eine internationale, afro-diasporische Marke mit weltweiten Kunden in Europa, USA, Jamaica, Asien u.m. 

Tabataps Ziel ist es mit Fashion und Kunst auf afrozentristische Weise zu empowern.

Wir bedanken uns für all den Support über die Jahre!!

 

 

DIE DESIGNERIN/KÜNSTLERIN

Tabitha ist eine Künstlerin mit vielen Facetten, aufgewachsen in einem kreativen Haushalt mit künstlerischen Eltern, was sie von früh auf prägte, ebenso die jamaikanische und Rastafari-Kultur mit der sie aufwuchs.

Die Designerin studierte von 2002-2006 Modedesign an der Akademie JAK in Hamburg. Im selben Jahr ihres Abschlusses wurde sie zum ersten mal Mutter (mittlerweile ist sie 4-fache Mutter) und gründete ihr Label Tabatap.

Über die Jahre hat sie ihre Mode auf Modenschauen in DE präsentiert, bereicherte Festivals mit ihrer Mode und nahm an Ausstellungen und Events teil und unterrichtete Workshops für Kinder. Unter anderem gründete sie mit anderen Familienmitgliedern den Talawah Store, der von 2006-2013 in Hamburg, St. Pauli betrieben wurde.

Malerei und Illustration gehören ebenfalls zu den Ausdrucksformen der Künstlerin, einige der Werke verbindet sie mit ihrer Mode. Ebenso ist sie mit der Musik tief verbunden, u.a. geprägt durch ihren Vater, einen jamaikanischen Reggaemusiker. Sie machte Studioaufnahmen, hatte Auftritte unter (u.a. bei der Poetry Night des BHM Hamburgs) und neue Projekte sind in Planung. Eine weitere Leidenschaft der Künstlerin ist Smai Tawi/Kemetic Yoga, so schloss sie im Oktober 2020 ihre Ausbildung zur Kemetic Yoga/Smai Tawi Lehrerin (Basu) des "Thef Sema Paut Neteru" Systems ab. Für Workshops und Privatunterricht steht sie zur Verfügung und freut sich neben ihrer kreativen Mode nun auch Smai Tawi an die Menschen weiter zu geben.